The New Zealand Institute for Liquor Licensing Inspectors was formed in 2003. NZILLI currently has 176 members.

These members comprise alcohol licensing inspectors from territorial authorities across New Zealand.

NZILLI supports, promotes, and provides leadership to licensing inspectors through:

  • peer support and mentoring;
  • training and resources; and
  • advocacy

to achieve consistent and effective administration of the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012.

All members must hold a current warrant appointing them an Alcohol Licensing Inspector under the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012.

If you have any questions about membership or would like to become a member please contact us.


President – Rob Abbott (Auckland Council)

Vice President  – Dougal Elvin (Western Bay of Plenty District Council)

Secretary - Tracy Waddington (Tasman District Council)

Treasurer - Chris Wisnewski (Manawatu District Council)

Committee Members

  • Antoinette Bliss (Kāpiti Coast District Council) 
  • Anish Chand (Waipa District Council) 
  • Tim Court (Auckland Council)
  • Sharon Hoogenraad (Timaru District Council)
  • Kelly Hosking (Thames Coromandel District Council)
  • Malcolm Johnston (Selwyn District Council)
  • Anneke Lavery (Christchurch City Council)
  • Ritchelle Roycroft (Auckland Council)
  • Grant Singer (Taupo District Council)
  • Sian Swinney (Queenstown Lakes District Council)